Subscribe to DSC Newsletter

Switching from Database Marketing to Biostatistics -- many questions about Biostats!

I've been programming daily in SAS for the last 5 years, first in Economic research and most recently in database marketing. I've realized that I'm significantly more interested from a personal basis in the sciences vis-a-vis marketing and considering going back to school for Biostatistics. My questions are these:

1. What is the demand for statisticians specifically trained in biostatistics? Do research scientists feel just as comfortable - or more so - hiring a "pure" statistician?

2. I'm making close to $100k now -- are the salaries of starting, or early-to-mid career bio-statisticians with an MS or PhD similar or better?

3. Any thoughts on the demand for MS vs. PhD in the private sector?

4. Has anyone else made this switch?? Thoughts??

Thanks so much!

Tags: PhD, biostatistics, career, careers, doctorate, masters, school, statistics, stats

Views: 6960

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Jonathan,

I made the move in the other direction many years back.

1 & 3) The pharmaceutical industry hires an army of biostatisticians. PhD preferred (w/ an MS, your title is more likely to be 'SAS programmer'). DoX, non-parametric, non-linear, repeated measures, ... lots of different specializations (thesis topics) are in demand. The chemists and biologists you work with will generally consider you a 'necessary evil'. The M.D.s ("Made Divines") will consider you an annoyance, and don't ever talk to the marketing people - it's just depressing to know how they think.