Subscribe to DSC Newsletter

Hi, I've been to a data mining seminar and webinar, but still have yet to be become someone who actually mines data. Can anyone suggest the best books for learning what data mining is and isn't? For anyone in the field, how did you actually get started?

Tags: Data, Mining, and, books, entry, field

Views: 8562

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I would also recommend "Data Mining: Concepts and Techniques" by Jiawei Han and Micheline Kamber in addition to the list.
It is one of the books that could help you get a general picture of essential topics in the data mining field. It was in the course literature of an introductory Data Mining course in my university.
Best regards,
Can
I'm fairly new to data mining myself, but I've been reading a book called "Data Mining: Practical Machine Learning Tools and Techniques" by Witten and Frank. The book is a little light on theory, but it has a pretty good overview of many different techniques for data mining, and it has enough detail that you can start applying some of the techniques on your data immediately. I'm using the book in conjunction with a course on decision trees that I'm taking at statistics.com, which I would recommend.

"Elements of Statistical Learning" seems to be the closest thing to an authoritative text on data mining that I've found, and it has more theory than the book I'm using for my class, so that may be of use to you. I'm planning on studying it more after I've finished taking my class.

Keep in mind that I am also a novice, so please take my advice with a grain of salt :).
I've checked the table of contents. It sounds like a very interesting book. I just bought it. I will also add it in my data mining directory (book section) on DataShaping.
I started in data mining with a PhD (I'm currently finishing it). Regarding the book, I advice, like Tom, the Witten and Frank one for practitioners and "Introduction to Data Mining" (Tan et al.) for researchers.