Subscribe to DSC Newsletter

Hello everyone! I am currently doing my thesis and I want to know how can I make an appropiate or "good guess" for GARCH (1,1) parameters (omega, alpha, beta) inorder for the microsoft excel SOLVER function can find the values. I am stuck...anyone got any suggestion. Thank you for your time...........

Views: 5984

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Sam,
I had the same question. I began with a crude estimate of (omega, alpha, beta) = (0.02, 0.90, 0.08) -- they sum to 1. From this I was able to generage a GARCH model of S&P500 historical volatility that closely matched the VIX. I thought that quite impressive, since the GARCH model used just the S&P500 daily close and the VIX is based entirely on option chain bid-ask prices. I shared a spreadsheet with you of this, below. But again, I would like to figure out, in general, the technique for determining the omega, alpha, beta values. If you find out anything, please let me know. Thanks, Mike G.
Attachments:
Mike
Very impressing analysis. But you need to be sure that you have a martingale series of errors terms, i.e., that you have cleaned up all seasonality factors from the series before you Garch it. I will try your series in eviews to see if the GARCH parameters are reasonable.
Cheers
Haim
Haim Shalit,

Thank you for the reply here. I reviewed the math of martingale series at Wikipedia but do not know how to apply the theory to the price data as you suggest. Would it be possible for you to briefly describe what is to be done and provide a reference so that I can learn the technique you alluded to?

Many thanks,
Mike
Thank you very much for you time and your advice. It worked as charme. I got the values and they are very close to the values extracted from EVIEWS. Thank once again.....

Sam
Sam,

I have not used EVIEWS. Is it correct that the EVIEWS software generated (somehow) values of omega, alpha and beta that are close to the choices I landed on as a first approximation?